Breakfast Kale and Shiitake Mushrooms

20130428-072438.jpg

I love Sundays. I love waking up and relishing the fact that I still have another day of the weekend. Best. Ever.

For me, it’s not that I get to sleep in – I’ve reached that age where I can no longer do that – but it’s the freedom to dictate my day. Enjoying the possibilities of life and free time, I plop myself in front of the TV and begin my Cooking Channel/Bravo morning marathon.

Productivity is initiated by boredom, at which point I make my Sunday breakfast. Last week I decided to introduce myself to shiitake mushrooms and made a delicious yet simple mushroom and kale sauté topped with a poached egg. The mushrooms added depth and smokiness to the bright and slight bitterness of the kale. The running yolks from the eggs coated everything like a sweet and creamy sauce, which was enhanced by the sweetness of the onions that were sautéed with the kale. Yum!

On that note, my day can begin.

 

Breakfast Kale and Shiitake Mushrooms
Serves 2

Ingredients:

5 stalks of Kale, sliced
5 Shitake Mushrooms, sliced
1/2 Small Onion, sliced
2 Eggs
White Vinegar
Red Pepper Flakes
Fresh thyme
Olive Oil
S&P

1. Saute the onion in olive oil on medium heat until soft.
2. Add the kale and a pinch of salt and pepper. Saute until tender, about 5-10 minutes.
3. Add the mushrooms and cook them through until they are soft.
4. Add some red pepper flakes and adjust the salt and pepper to taste.
5. To poach the eggs, bring a pot of salted water to boil. Add a glug of vinegar. Reduce the heat to a simmer. crack an egg into a ramekin or small cup. Mix the water with a spoon in a circular motion to create a gentle vortext, then drop the egg in the center. Allow the egg to cook for about 5 minutes, and then remove it with a slotted spoon. Press the egg gently to make sure that the yolk is cooked to your desired consistancy. If it is finished, let is drain and gently pat it dry. Repeat for the second egg.
10. Pile the sautee on a place and gently place the poached egg on top. Season with a little bit of salt and pepper, gently drizzle a tiny bit of olive oil over everything and sprinkle with some fresh thyme leaves.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

