Forget-Portion-Control Cookies

20130515-213454.jpg

I approach baked goods like binge drinking. I overindulge, get sick, swear off it and repeat. My mom made me a Boston cream-filled cake covered in chocolate for my birthday last year. I ate the entire thing in less than a week. And no, I did not share (it was that good, Mom!). Needless to say, I can no longer keep large quantities of baked goods in my apartment.

These chocolate chip cookies are the exception. They’re pretty much free everything – flourless, gluten free, agave sweetened, vegan. If I eat half the batch in one sitting, I’m only out about 350 calories…for half of a batch of cookies. I know. Nuts! If I have a normal-person portion – say 1 or 2 cookies – it’s only about 60-120 calories. Even better: they’re super simple to make (don’t bother busting out you hand mixer for this one!).

Instead of flour, I blend oats into a powder and mix it with almond meal (just ground almonds). I then bring it all together with agave, molasses and grapeseed oil. Last in is a healthy handful of chocolate chips. After 5 minutes of baking, they are perfectly soft, hearty and chocolaty.

Now don’t be scared. I’ve been there before. I like my cookies full fat and my cupcakes 3/4 buttercream frosting. So if you shun vegan sweets like edible insects, try these as breakfast biscuits. They’re pretty much balls of oatmeal with chocolate in them (look at the ingredients!). In fact, I had them for breakfast the first time I made them. I paired them with a strawberry banana smoothie that I poured into a martini glass…it seemed appropriate.

Forget Portion Control Cookies
Makes 8 cookies

1 Cup Oats
1/4 cups Almond Meal
1/4 tsp Baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3 tbsp Agave
1 tbsp Molases
1 tbsp Grapeseed oil
1 tsp vanilla
2 handfuls chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 375 F.
2. Using a blender, grind the oats into a fine powder. Empty the oats in a medium-sized bowl.
3. Add the Almond meal and baking powder to the oats and mix well.
4. In a separate bowl, combine the agave, molases, oil and vanilla.
5. Mix the wet and dry ingredients and add the chocolate chips.
6. To form the cookies, scoop the batter with a spoon and squeeze it into a ball. Then slide the cookie onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
7. Bake the cookies for 5 minutes.
8. Let the chocolate cool and enjoy!

Substitutions:
*I use grapeseed oil because it is healthy, but you can use pretty much any oil you want, including olive oil.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “Forget-Portion-Control Cookies

  1. Your mom sounds evil tempting you with such horrors! I think you should go to her house for the weekend and cook all your favorite recipes (most importantly pancakes) so she can see how it’s done.

Leave a Reply

