Chicken Breast with Roasted Poblano and Corn Succotash

Chicken Breast 8

 

I hate introducing myself to large groups. It makes me feel so silly. I say my name, my city, and then start scrambling for something that I enjoy. Anything to make myself just a little more…distinct.

Hmm…I like to eat, I probably watch way too much TV, I like dogs…still not there yet…I hate riding the subway, I don’t really like flying either…yea, you and everyone else in America.

I like dark meat chicken. Why not? Chances are that you know exactly which piece you’re after in that platter of Thanksgiving turkey. Why is it any more or less an example of your personal preference than whether or not you really think dogs are man’s best friend!

So there it is. I’m Sheena, I live in Brooklyn, and I love dark meat chicken!

Well, that was true until I tried chicken breast bone-in, skin-on at Saul in Cobble Hill, Brooklyn. It was the best of both worlds: tender and juicy like dark meat, but light and bright like white meat.

Saul has since closed, but will move to the Brooklyn Museum this fall (no food and drink in the museum unless it is good food and strong drink). In the meantime, I had to figure out how to make it myself.

My first attempt at chicken breast skin on, bone in was divine. I was ready to challenge Saul Bolton himself to a cook-off; Iron Chef style. That is, until I realized that it was undercooked. I continued to eat it (because 50% of my life decisions are based on gluttony) by then just getting as close to the pink as I could while convincing myself that food poisoning may be bad but at least I wouldn’t die (don’t quote me on that).

A little practice, a spin on a method I learned from an episode of Barefoot Contessa (the one where she goes to the Standard Grill to make the “Million Dollar Chicken”) and some really great pairings and my chicken breast bone-in, skin-on was great (and edible!).

The chicken is browned in a cast-iron skillet, then roasted on atop a slice of baguette. It’s then topped with a roasted corn and poblano “succotash” and a dollop of cilantro sour cream. The perfect pairing for the chicken is that toasty baguette that soaked up all of that yummy chicken flavor.

If you make sure to cook the chicken until it is just right, it’ll be juicy and tender and you can taste the flavors that seeped in from the bone and skin. Even if you over cook it just a little, the pairings add a nice flavor compliment and moisture.

Dark meat fans may start having second thoughts.

As for me, my newly found enjoyment of white meat has sent me back to square one. Here we go again.

I’m Sheena…..

Chicken Breast 5

Chicken Breast with Roasted Corn and Poblano Succotash
Serves 2

2 Chicken Breasts (bone-in, skin-on)
¼ Baguette (about 6-inches), cut in half
1 tsp Cumin
2-3 Allspice seeds
5 Coriander seeds
1 ear Corn
1 Poblano pepper
½ Jalapeno
½ Onion
¼ Red pepper
1 small Tomato
¾ cup Cilantro (a handful)
½ cup Sour cream
1 lime (zest and juice)
Olive Oil
S&P

1. Toast and grind the spices (if using seeds). Rub the chicken with the spices, 1 tbsp olive oil and S&P. Let it stand for at least ½ hour.
2. Roast the corn and poblano over an open flame on the stove until charred
3. Peal and deseed the poblano and slice it. Remove the corn kernels from the cob. Set both aside.
4. Preheat the oven to 350 F
5. Sear the chicken for about 3-4 minutes on both sides in an oven-proof pan.
6. Place the bread under the chicken (skin-side up), and put it the skillet in the oven. Roast the chicken for about 25 minutes, or until cooked through. (NO PINK)
7. Sautee the onions, jalapeno and red pepper. At the last minute, add the corn, poblano and tomato. Turn the fire on low and keep warm until ready to serve.
8. Finely chop the cilantro, and mix with the sour cream, lime zest, lime juice, salt and pepper.
9. When the chicken is ready, remove it from the oven and allow it to rest. Then slice it, top it with the succotash and a dollop of sour cream. Serve with the bread.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Chicken Breast with Roasted Poblano and Corn Succotash

Leave a Reply

